Tags

, , , , ,

Was getting my Marley on this weekend, and it reminded me of this beautiful remix of one of his classic songs “Turn Your Lights Down Low”. Coming from “The Best Man” soundtrack late-Summer of 1999, this was actually my first real introduction to Bob Marley, of course I had knowledge of him but I don’t think I had listened to any of his music at that point. Lauryn Hill was coming off her multi-award and multi-platinum “Miseducation” era, so anything new she put out she had the attention of the masses. So I’ll thank her for putting me on to Bob, I LOVED this song so much and the video was beautiful as well. And now that I’m well versed in Marley, I can say this remix (where Lauryn trades verses with the old Marley recording) is just as good as the original version. It’s a little more Hip Hop with the strong back beats, but it still keeps the calm and breezy nature of the original. Lauryn’s vocals, both sung and rapped, flow so well with Marley you want to believe they were in the studio together.

Beautiful song, and some nice mellow Monday music for you.

Enjoy!

