Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you follow my blog, you should know that I’m usually really gung-ho and totally excited about each years Grammy Nominations. Generally I make about 4 posts a year when Grammy time comes around. This year is really different. I didn’t even do a nomination prediction write up this year, mainly because I’ve been venturing further away from the mainstream acts so I knew my personal picks wouldn’t be considered. However if I would have written a predictions post, I probably would have named all the big Top 40 artists this year as the Grammy’s have been trending towards awarding big sellers over critical favorites. And had I done that, I don’t think I would have been too far off.

The Grammy nominations were announced last night, and I’m not really surprised or shocked, I’m not even upset, I’m really just indifferent. The Grammy’s have really turned into a new Billboard Awards, nearly every big hit single and top selling album is up for awards — over more deserving well-reviewed but slightly under the radar acts. Which of course is no surprise and no different than the past two or three years, leaving little excitement about the list of nominees this year.

We all knew that Adele would be a top nominee, and she delivers with 6 nominations (she’ll easily win 5 of those 6). Though she’s not the top nominee as Kanye West scores that prize with 7 nominations. Foo Fighters and Bruno Mars are also up for 6 awards. Other obvious acts like Lil Wayne, Radiohead, Rihanna, Mumford & Sons and Nicki Minaj compete in multiple categories. Nearly everybody who made any kind of impression on the charts this year shows up with a random nomination or two.

Like I said before, I’m really indifferent about this years crop of nominees. I honestly could care less, but I did have some major gripes even though me griping won’t change anything. The biggest “WTF?” starts at the very beginning, Album of the Year. Adele is going to win, no doubt so it doesn’t really matter, but there’s no way Kanye should have been left out of this race with “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy”. It was the best reviewed album of last year, and it’s singles garnered Kanye 3 of his 7 nods.

And another big omission, Bon Iver‘s self titled album. I’ve still not heard it, but it was a big critical success earlier this year, and his track “Holocen” made it in Song and Record of the Year. So why not Album of the Year? Seems like Rihanna’s “Loud” and Bruno Mars’ totally inferior album “Doo-Wops and Hooligans” took the spots that deservedly belonged to Kanye and Iver.

Other than that category, there’s nothing too upsetting really just a few weird things. Like why is Cee-Lo Green up for Pop Vocal Album for “The Lady Killer”, which is rooted in 60’s and 70’s Soul sounds (well, if you think about it Amy Winehouse was up for POP for her R&B album “Back to Black” back in 2007). Still, the Grammy’s are always a little off and weird here and there (just look at some of my posts about previous years).

As far as snubs, there are a lot. And it’s mainly due to the Grammy’s cutting out a number of it’s categories and consolidating Male and Female categories. Some of the biggest snubs of this year were Fleet Foxes garnering just one nod for their critically acclaimed “Helplessness Blues”, Beyonce for her album “4” which only garnered 1 nomination, Rock groups Cage The Elephant and Yuck (but Foster the People get multiple nominations?), Indie-Electro rising star James Blake, R&B Divas Jill Scott and Jennifer Hudson, as well as deserving R&B guys Miguel, Frank Ocean and Musiq Soulchild.

In the Country category, which I generally wouldn’t have any business speaking about but I’ve become a bit of a Country Music Channel nut for the past few months. Where is “Remind Me”, the duet by two Grammy darlings Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood? And last years big winners Lady Antebellum settle for one nomination this year for Country Album, no love for their singles “Just a Kiss” and “We Owned the Night”. And just one other complaint, Lupe Fiasco‘s Modest Mouse rip off “The Show Goes On” up for so many Rap categories? I Just Can’t!!

So that’s that! Hopefully this list of nominees will at least make for an interesting Award ceremony, otherwise this is probably the first Grammy’s in years that I just won’t care about. So much so, that this will probably be my only post about it until the actual winners are announced. So here are my predictions in some of the major categories.

Album of the Year

Adele “21”
Bruno Mars “Doo-Wops and Hooligans”
Foo Fighters “Wasting Light”
Lady GaGa “Born This Way”
Rihanna “Loud”

will win: No Brainer, ADELE! (and just to save myself from carpal tunnel, I’m gonna copy and paste that from here on out because I expect to use it a lot)
should win: Adele, even though I feel like GaGa’s was the most adventurous album of the 5.

Record of the Year

Adele “Rolling in the Deep”
Bon Iver “Holocene”
Bruno Mars “Grenade”
Katy Perry “Firework”
Mumford & Sons “The Cave”

will win: No Brainer, ADELE!
should win: Adele, yet Katy’s anthem is tough competition.

Song of the Year

Adele “Rolling in the Deep”
Bon Iver “Holocene”
Bruno Mars “Grenade”
Kanye West “All of the Lights”
Mumford & Sons “The Cave”

will win: No Brainer, ADELE!
should win: Adele, however Kanye’s track was epic and should be his consolation for that Album of the Year snub.

New Artist

The Band Perry
Bon Iver
J. Cole
Nicki Minaj
Skrillex

will win: Bon Iver or The Band Perry, can’t decide right now. They both have the best chances, with The Band Perry slightly edging him out.
should win: Bon Iver, he’s obviously not NEW but he’s made a name for himself with a very un-mainstream sound and that should be commended

