Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, like… This week I was clearly in a Santigold mood as she dominates the list this week. There are a some others as you will see when you scroll down, but she’s all over the place. Aside from Santigold though, I really just got into that whole idea of Dancehall/Dub/Electronic hybrid type music. Something you can dance to like a House song but whine to like a Reggae song, I love the combination so if anybody can recommend me some more music like that… Santigold, M.I.A., Major Lazer and others… I’m really feeling that right now and would love to discover some other music like it.

Enjoy the list.

10. Santigold “Unstoppable”

9. Major Lazer feat. Vybz Kartel “Pon De Floor”
Every time I hear this I think “Gawd, ‘Run The World (Girls)‘ was such a f*ckin’ MESS!”

8. Basement Jaxx “Breakaway”
I loved this song since I first got the Jaxx “Rooty” CD in 2001, but it came up on a playlist during the week and I got stuck on the song. I’ve always related to the message “i’m living the same old sh*t each and every damn day!”

7. Santigold “Starstruck”

6. Santigold “Disparate Youth”

5. Major Lazer feat. Mr Evil and Mapei “Mary Jane”

4. MGMT “Someone’s Missing”
“Congratulations” was a very weird (but enjoyable) album. This (very short, almost intro-like) song stuck out to me because of what happens around 1.22 before they finally switch the melancholy to an almost Motown-ish upbeat close. Good stuff!

3. Rihanna “Rude Boy”
I think I may have to share my playlists with my readers eventually, because my Rihanna “Greatest!” mix is the sh*t. And though I’ve listened to this song like a million times, I was really really really loving it this week. Never noticed that “ow-wow-ow” thing cycles through the entire song. *laugh

2. Major Lazer feat. Mr Vegas and Jovi Rockwell “Can’t Stop Now”

1. Santigold “Big Mouth”

