Tags

, , , ,

Hello Lambs!

mariah-carey-cover-image-billboard-650I just wanted to write a quick note about Mariah Carey Week, which I feel was a success on my part at least. With the exception of the post about Mariah’s History of Shade (which I’ll talk about in a little bit), I managed to accomplish all the goals I set with this Theme week. And I’m really happy that the Lambs enjoyed it.

In regards to the “SHADE” article. Well, I decided it was just a bit negative and I try to shy away from putting negativity out in the universe. While the idea was fun, I just felt it would be a dark cloud on this otherwise positive celebration of “The Elusive Chanteuse”. Plus a lot of it is old drama that doesn’t need to be brought up, so I decided not to do the post. I DO want anyone who hasn’t watched “Got 2B Real” on YouTube to go and do so now. It’s a Parody show, think of it as a reality show with artists like Aretha Franklin, Patti LaBelle and yes Mariah Carey throwing Shade left and right. It’s HILARIOUS!!! I have been meaning to write about it, but just go and watch it. Checked out LaBelleoftheBall2 and watch from the start. You won’t regret it.

Also wanted to check back in and say that the more I listen to “Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse” it is growing on me and I appreciate it a little more. I still stand by what I said in my review, but there are some things I sort of missed before that brings a new layer to the album. Mainly that it’s sequenced like a story, the trials of a couple who are conflicted about whether they should stay together or let it go. “Faded” is my favorite song now, and other songs like “You Don’t Know What to Do”, “Camouflage” and the cover of “One More Try” bring this story to life. It also does make you wonder if she’s talking about her own marriage, or if these are just sort of “generic” love songs. Either way, I’m appreciating the album much better.

I also wanted to talk quickly about the NBC Special “Mariah Carey : At Home In Concert” that came on last night. Let me reiterate that I don’t want to be too negative on this blog, but I’ll be honest. While the special was cute, and I think a good marketing tool for the album, it was a little too edited for my tastes. When her and Fabolous did “Money” I was getting annoyed by the obvious cuts that were made because it really ruined the flow and made you wonder what they were editing out!? The interview footage was mostly uninformative, but overall it was a cute moment and I was happy to have a whole hour with Mariah.

So that’s it! Here’s a short Recap of the Week! Hope you enjoyed it.

Mariah_Carey_S04_008v9_V2_orig-4iflstars-copy-2-1024x1024Discography Review : 1990-1999 

“Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse” Album Review

Discography Review : 2001-2014

Top 10 Mariah Carey Club Mixes 

The Five Essential/Must-Own Mariah Carey Albums 

 

