Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello All.

So, you know me by now. I love Music, Film, TV, and the Arts, but I’ve been having a long journey in finding myself and finding my passion. The funny thing is, I took my big leap of faith and moved to New York City last Fall and I didn’t quite succeed at what I set out to do. Coming back home to the Bay Area, I somewhat reverted back to my childhood creativity which was evidenced in the Glitch Art stuff I’ve been posting to Instagram and a couple of other creative ideas I’ve come up with (and will talk about shortly). Basically since I’ve been back, I’m been trying to figure out what I am passionate about and what I enjoy doing for a future career move.

What I settled on, career wise, was Video Editing.

Adobe Premiere Pro, the software I've been using for my Video Editing I class.

Adobe Premiere Pro, the software I’ve been using for my Video Editing I class.

About 4 years ago I bought a new computer and it came with Windows Movie Maker, a basic Video Editing software, and I had lots of fun doing random editing projects at home. I was interested in the creative process of it, but I wasn’t sure how one could get into that industry. Later, when I had moved to New York and was working a Temporary job, they showed me a piece of video footage. It was a short clip, and while we were all talking about the video, it came out that the Editor was paid $600 for the clip which was less than 3 minutes. I figured, HEY I could do that! So I started to look into it, and flash forward to today… I’m one week away from finishing my first semester of a Video Editing Certificate Program at Berkeley City College. By Summer of 2016 I will have three Certificates under my belt (Basic, Intermediate and Advance Video Editing), a reel, and experience that will hopefully secure me a job somewhere in New York City.

In the class we are using Adobe Premiere Pro, which I’m told is the new industry standard for Video Editing (along with AVID), and I’m doing really well. Mainly I’m having fun, because school is always more interesting when you are actually interested in what you are learning about. The only difficulty comes from the fact that I don’t have a Macbook Pro or the Adobe Premiere Pro on my personal computer. It’s not much of a difficulty, because I can use the Lab at school during certain hours to get stuff done, but it would be nice to have access to the program away from school.

Macbook Pro with Retina Display 15"

Macbook Pro with Retina Display 15″

Which brings me to my GoFundMe Campaign. I decided to try my hand at crowdfunding, because I would definitely benefit from having a MacBook Pro and the Adobe Creative Suite. It would give me a leg up in classes, and I would be able to work on other side projects while I’m studying and taking the steps towards my Certificate. For instance, this August I’m going to continue in the program and the two classes are a part of the Adobe Creative Suite (Photoshop and After Effects), it would be great if I already had those programs and was able to complete my assignments at home or outside of the restricted hours at school.

Aside from my classes, I have this idea for T-shirts!

Here’s where this idea came about. I LOVE graphic T-Shirts. I LOVE expressing myself and showing my likes on a Tee, and as much as I shop for different T-shirts I see the void that needs to be filled. If you look at any T-shirt shop or online site, you will notice lots of Classic Rock Stars represented (Jimi Hendrix, The Beatles, The Stones), Hip Hop Stars, Punk Stars and even Jazz and Reggae. What’s missing!? Female Artists in the Pop and R&B Genre – those artists that us Gays love and would love showing off on a T-shirt. I feel like this void can easily be filled, and I want to be the one to do it.

I have several ideas behind this though. Using Album covers is one idea, but there are several more creative ideas I’ve come up with that would require some artistic creativity on my part (and would be helped with the Adobe Creative Suite). One of the ideas that I got a great reception on was making “Baby Divas”, like a Muppet Baby version of the Divas in some of their iconic looks.

"Baby Beyonce" - one of my T-shirt Ideas.

“Baby Beyonce” – one of my T-shirt Ideas.

There’s a lot that goes into making T-shirts, but the first step is design and I know that I could get that part knocked out with the Adobe Creative Suite and the MacBook Pro.

So, basically, I just need some support with this. I put up the GoFundMe campaign about a week ago and have collected $15.00, of the $3,250 I was asking for. So if you can help out, or at least share this with someone who can I would be most appreciative.

 

 

 

