Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Friday Folks!!! This is gonna be a hella random Top 10 list, I’ve been kind of all over the place this week Music-wise. I’ve actually been trying to get through a bunch of new albums (Jennifer Hudson, Interpol, Basement Jaxx, Julian Casablancas + The Voidz) but having difficulties doing it because a) work has been mad busy and I can’t really focus on the music when I listen at work  and b) I tend to always revert back to my Beyonce’s and Rihanna’s when I’m free from work. So… the goal is, next week, to take off ALL my “comfort” music and really really listen to ALL the latest albums I’ve obtained. This week is this week, and here it is. Enjoy!

10. Chris Brown “Add Me In”

I love the wordplay on this “Math = Sex” song.

 

9. Rich Gang featuring Young Thug & Rich Homie Quan “Lifestyle”

AGAIN, this song is mad dumb but so damn catchy and laid back. Can’t hate. Won’t hate.

 

8. Jay-Z featuring Alicia Keys “Empire State of Mind”

I went back to that Alicia Keys Hits playlist I made (more on that a little later), and that “Part II” of her and Jay’s Epic #1 hit is on there but it always leaves me wanting the original version. Hence, it’s #8.

 

7. Chris Brown “Lost In Ya Love”

This song is just too cute.

 

6. Chrisette Michele “A Couple of Forevers”

Another album I’ve been trying to get through, “Better” by Chrisette. Actually I need to listen to ALL of her albums, but this is the current one I’ve been trying to make it through. This song is so beautiful, and she is SUCH a great singer.

 

5. Jay-Z & Beyonce “Forever Young/ Halo (Live)”

Okay so the big “On the Run Tour” was aired on HBO this past Saturday, and you guys. You KNOW I’m a big fan of both Jay and Bey, but I wasn’t really INTO the show. I almost blogged about it, but work on Monday didn’t allow me the time to wrap my head around all that I wanted to say. However another thing happened on Monday, I downloaded the torrent for the show and watched the parts that I missed (which was basically “On the Run” and this ending number), and I just thought this mash up was amazingly emotional and sentimental and all that. WOW! did I write enough? #Kiiiiii

 

4. Alicia Keys “Unthinkable (I’m Ready)”

So. I’m gonna do it. Remember that post I made about “Potentially Awesome Greatest Hits Albums“, and later on I said I was thinking of posting the playlists on YouTube. Well I think I’m gonna do it. I want to use cool pictures and cool editing techniques to do it, and I decided to start with Alicia because I LOVE the playlist I made for her. I decided to just start with ONE song and this is the ONE, which is one of my favorites by her. I wanted to just use one to see how easy or difficult it would be, so stay tuned on the YouTube playlists. (By the way, yesterday is the very first time I actually saw this Music Video and I think it’s GREAT! Great message)

 

3. Ed Sheeran “Photograph”

I actually listened to Sheeran’s “X” album a few weeks ago, and I liked it, but nothing really stuck with me so I decided to give it another listen. This time, this song stuck! So beautiful.

 

2. Chrisette Michele featuring 2 Chainz “Charades”

YES! It’s still on the list.

 

1. Beyonce featuring Nicki Minaj “***Flawless (Live)”

My absolute favorite moment on the “On the Run Tour”, and y’all know I am NOT a Nicki fan, but I loved this performance. The dancing, the swag, the energy. The DRAMA and intensity that comes with this song is perfectly displayed on stage, but at the end of the day “Bow Down” and “***Flawless” are FUN songs and that was also brought to the stage. BRAVO BEY! (well, I’m only able to find THIS on YouTube, sorry guys!)

