Tags

, , , , , , , ,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
2015 is here and I have goals in mind and the ability to execute. And by the power of Grayskull I will make some serious progress by the end of the year.

That being said, I love blogging. Sure I get discouraged sometimes, but overall I love this medium to get my thoughts out on whatever might cross my mind. And I have to say that 2014 was a good blogging year.

I haven’t been sitting back planning what I want to do with the blog this year, but I DO have an idea of something I want to start next week and just wanted to share it with you all.

looking-2-poster-1-jpgAs my regular readers would know, HBO’s series “Looking” was a major source of frustration last year. From the trailer to the season finale, I had a serious love/hate feeling toward the show. More hate than love, but obviously I enjoyed the show despite my feelings about it’s lack of diversity and paper-thin characterizations. And I swear, once I saw the teaser for the new season, which starts this Sunday, I kept going back and forth in my mind if I was going to continue to watch the SF melodrama or just ignore it.

Well, I’ve not only decided to watch the second season but I’m going to commit to posting weekly recaps right here on the blog. The first idea was to continue vlogging about the show on my YouTube channel (I vlogged about the last 4 episodes of last season), but time really won’t permit me to record videos every week and post them on a regular schedule. And sometimes I’m better getting out my feeling with writing as opposed to talking, so every week get your Patrick/Richie/Kevin fix right here.

girls-season-4-key-art-hbo-2In addition to “Looking”, I’m also VERY excited for the new season of “GIRLS“. I got into the Lena Dunham show earlier this year as it’s 3rd season was wrapping up. I was intrigued by the show and it’s characters and binge-watched the series and I’m pretty amped for the 4th season which also comes on Sunday. Sometime during this week, I’m going to have to write a summary of my feelings of the show so far. Like “Looking”, “GIRLS” is often very frustrating with it’s priviliged, delusional and naive characters who have the most miniscule problems in their life. “GIRLS” is a lot more FUN than “Looking” though, although it has it’s dramatic and emotional moments it’s mostly a comedy. I’m not sure if I’ll do seperate posts or just recap both shows on the same post each week. But hey, I have a few days to figure it out.

MV5BMTU2ODI1MDE2Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTQ5Nzc1MzE@._V1_SX214_AL_Lastly, I’m planning on checking out the OVERLY-hyped FOX series “Empire” when it premieres this Wednesday. The overall idea seems a bit cliche, a successful record label owner comes into conflict with his ex who helped start the company before a long stint in jail. “Empire” has the potential to be HORRIBLE, but I absolutely love Taraji P. Henson and am a fan of Terrence Howard. “Hustle and Flow” was such an excellent movie, it’s nice to see even just a small portion of the cast reunited, and because of their past chemistry I think the two of them will be electric on screen together. I also feel the need to support my black shows. I mean I complained about the lack of diversity in “Looking” so hard, it would be hypocritical of me to not try and support a show with non-whites in the lead.

Of course I don’t know how this show is going to go. Like I said, the actors are great and could be amazing on screen together. There’s also the feeling that the two actors might just phone it in, and the overall series might be a joke. I’m going to watch the premiere, but I can’t commit to reviewing the show every week. So we’ll play this series by ear.

So… THAT’S the plan!

