Tags

,

Last week, I went and looked at my site stats and yet again my Top 25 Janet Jackson Videos was #1. That post is almost always #1, and it’s the #3 Most Viewed post the entire time I’ve been blogging, so I thought I should talk more about Janet on here, and I decided to devote a whole day to doing so.

janet circle tagged

The truth is I’ve been a HUGE fan of hers since the “Control” era, and I wasn’t the only one. I know that in black households, Janet was everyone’s little sister thanks to her time on various Jackson Family TV specials, her role as Penny on “Good Times” and Charlotte on “Diff’rent Strokes”. And no one could deny that her performances were the best of her peers, she danced circles around Madonna and other 80’s girls. And her music was always on the radio and a top request at parties and clubs.

Millenials probably don’t understand the impact Janet had on R&B music and the influence she has had on the current Pop tarts. I mean, early Britney Spears was pretty much a direct rip off of Janet yet she was never given credit for paving the way for her or the generation after her. Both good and bad, so many of the Pop girls take so many things from Janet, and it’s a shame that one Superbowl incident ruined her long lasting and successful career.

Hopefully today will shine a light on the greatness of the youngest Jackson, her amazing music videos and live performances and her diverse musical catalog. And although it’s been assumed that Janet has retired from the music industry, I have some Career Advice for the living Legend if she does in fact return with a new album.

So sit back and enjoy. There’s going to be A LOT (I will probably scale back on some of the posts I thought of), but I want to keep them coming about an hour at a time. (I’m at work though so it might not work out how I want to, but this #JanetDay will be done by 6pm pst)

